Türkçe English
Leed Certification

Leed Certification

The application for Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) Certificate for Izmir Adnan Menderes Airport New Domestic Terminal and Car Park was delivered in December 2012. With this application, ADB New Domestic Terminal now has a strong chance to be the first airport terminal to obtain a LEED certificate.
LEED Green Building Rating System which determines high performance buildings that are more environment-friendly, economical, profitable and healthier compared to the existing buildings is a voluntary certificate system and the LEED certificate is granted by the United States Green Building Council (USGBC). (http://new.usgbc.org/leed)

LEED Certification is the most common, reliable and valid Green Building Certificate System worldwide. Therefore, it is today the most preferred certification system in the market.

Environmentally friendly buildings are constructed based on principles such as reducing the operating costs, wastes, and the hazardous greenhouse gas emissions as well as increasing the investment values, efficiency in energy and water consumption, and creating a more sustainable and healthier environment. It has been proved scientifically that all of the principles listed above have been accomplished by the buildings which obtained the LEED Certificate.  Therefore, the LEED certificate has been made mandatory by the governments particularly for public buildings in many countries. LEED is a ranking system which was developed for main sustainable design criteria which will be used in the construction of the new buildings and the renovation of the existing buildings.

LEED® Certificate is granted in the following categories:

  • New Construction, Restoration and Renovation
  • Existing Buildings
  • Commercial Buildings
  • Core Materials and Facades
  • Educational Institutions
  • Hospitals
  • Residences
  • Retail Shops
  • Data Centers
  • Storage and Distribution Centers
  • Hotels
  • Areas of Urban Development

Investmentors and consultants choose the most proper LEED certification for the building together. Afterwards, the building is designed according to the LEED Certification Criteria in the integrated design process and the buildings are evaluated in the following 7 categories each of which has its own score value:

  • Sustainable Area
  • Water Efficiency
  • Energy and Atmosphere
  • Materials and Resources
  • Internal Quality
  • Innovations in Design
  • Regional Priority

In order to be eligible for the LEED® Certificate, minimum 40 points out of 110 have to be collected and 8 prerequisites have to be fulfilled prior to, during and following the construction.

LEED® Certification has 4 levels:

  • LEED® Certificate 40-49 Points
  • LEED® Silver Certificate 50-59 Points
  • LEED® Golden Certificate 60-79 Points
  • LEED® Platinum Certificate 80+ Points